Human Nature, humor, parenting

Can’t go over it, can’t go under it, gotta go through it

Running into any obstacles? I am and I’m laughing at my own foolishness, which is a constant source of amusement to me.

Gotta go through it

Gotta go through it

I always tell people, we can’t fix everything, but maybe we can fix one little thing, so do that thing. So, since Alexander Solzhenitsyn’s last book is banned in the United States and I find books banned in the US to be repugnant on principle, I had the brilliant idea of recording the English translation I found as an audio book and sharing it with America on Youtube.

How hard could that be? Just read into the mic and voila! Sure it’s 400 pages, but I can read pretty well and I’ve been talking since about age one. I should have foreseen that a Russian book about Russia might contain phrases like this: “especially Sviatopolk Iziaslavich…” Yeah, especially him…Read his name aloud right now-how did you do? Better than I, I bet.

I am making lots of mistakes. So I have to repeat and edit the whole thing until my pronunciation has improved to the point that it is merely pitiful instead of downright laughable.

AND to edit the recording I have to learn new software. Not new software!

Can't go around it

Can’t go under it

At times like these I remember songs from years of teaching 2 year-olds. Do you know “Going on a Bear Hunt?” It’s got a lot of hand gestures, but the part that comes back to me at moments like this is:

There’s a swamp!
Can’t go over it,
can’t go under it,
gotta go through it…

 

 

 

And that’s my advice on overcoming obstacles-when you can’t avoid them. No shame in avoiding swamps-if you can. But sometimes you can’t. Don’t despair, gird up your loins, you can do it.

Can’t go over it,
can’t go under it,
gotta go through it…

We press on…

About Je' Czaja

Je' is a writer, artist, and stand up philosopher. She founded and directed two non-profit organizations for disadvantaged children and their families, served as a missionary for three years and is the author of several books. https://www.smashwords.com/interview/jeczaja Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00IU4RWKE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

