Human Nature, Philosophy

Why do I never get sick?

Don't worry. Be Happy

Don’t worry. Be Happy

For many years now, I have felt almost guilty when those around me come down with some variation of a cold or the flu and I do not. How often does a “normal” person get sick, anyway? You are probably a normal person, perhaps you can tell me.

I wrote to a university that has a Psychology of Happiness department and offered to be a test subject, but they never got back to me. If I never get sick, I need to share the secret with others. If only I knew the secret myself.

My health habits are underwhelming. I won’t even list them on the off chance that someone might follow them. Fresh fruits and vegetable, regular exercise-good stuff, do that. But I do not.

Let me not exaggerate, I might come down with a brief cold once or twice a year. It lasts 24 hours at most and then I’m back to bouncing around. I have gone to help households stricken by some bug and when they express gratitude for my sacrifice, assuming I will also be stricken, I hasten to explain that I will not get sick. I’m not sure they believe me. Sometimes they call in a few days. “So, how are you feeling?” they ask. “Superduper, I reply.”

I have a theory. I am almost always happy, though human. I have the same amount of bad things happen to me as anyone, but I have learned that I have a choice. I can dwell on what I have lost or dwell on what I still have. I can take my thoughts captive-it’s just an acquired skill and I’m sure anyone can learn it, if I have.

On the rare occasions when I do get sick, I find that this was preceded by being discouraged. Interesting word, “discouraged.” It implies I once had courage, but I’ve lost it somehow. Once again, I’m dwelling on something I’ve lost, some hope that has been deferred. I need a new hope to replace it.

I have no objection to medicines or vitamins. If I feel sickish I take EmergenC and watch stand-up comedy on Youtube until I’m well. If visions of strawberries intrude into my thoughts, I take some vitamin C. Our bodies are always trying to tell us things, we should listen more often.

I know people would like this post better if I listed “10 Ways to Stay Healthy” instead of offering difficult advice like “take your thoughts captive.” But I really want to help instead of just tickling your ears, so I herein offer what I have experienced.

OK, OK: Here are THREE Ways to Stay Healthy-

  1. Think about what you’re thinking about-regard fear, worry and negative thoughts with the same alarm as you would feel upon entering an Ebola virus ward.
  2. Choose to be happy-“A man is just about as happy as he chooses to be.” Abe Lincoln
  3. Listen to your body

Robert Saplosky on Physical Effects of Stress

Characteristics of Happy People

 

 

About Je' Czaja

Je' is a writer, artist, and stand up philosopher. She founded and directed two non-profit organizations for disadvantaged children and their families, served as a missionary for three years and is the author of several books. https://www.smashwords.com/interview/jeczaja Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00IU4RWKE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

